The Faculty of Agriculture was established in 2001 with the aim of developing sustainable agricultural systems particularly focused on the production environment of the Dry Zone of Sri Lanka utilizing rural farm settings and natural resources effectively. To achieve this goal, Faculty of Agriculture offers a Bachelor of Science Honours degree in Agriculture (BSc Hons (Agriculture), of four-year duration. The Bachelor degree programme comprises of semester based teaching evaluations in eight semesters, during which different courses are offered by the four academic Departments, namely Agricultural Engineering and Soil Science (ES), Agricultural Systems (AS), Animal and Food Sciences (AF) and Plant Sciences (PS). The core programme spanning through the first five semesters is compulsory for all students. During the 6th and 7th semesters, students can select the specialization module on their preference.

  • Agricultural Biology
  • Agricultural Economics and Extension
  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Agricultural Systems and Management
  • Animal Production and Technology
  • Crop Science
  • Environmental Soil Management
  • Food and Postharvest Technology

At the end of the 7th Semester, students will receive one month industrial training with an industry. During the 8th semester each student is required to conduct an individual research project under the guidance of supervisors in the selected specialization module . In each course, one credit unit is equal to 15 hours of lectures or 30 hours of practical work/tutorials/assignments/field visits. Courses are identified by a course code with two letters and four numerical digits. The two upper case letters indicate the Department that offers the course. The first numerical digit indicates the academic year, the second the semester and the last two are the identification numbers of the course in the respective Department.

Example: – AS 1101 Microeconomic Theory (Agricultural Systems) (Year 1) (Semester I) (Course No. 01) For example, AS 1101 indicates Microeconomic Theory. Subject code indicates that the Department of Agricultural Systems offers this course during the first year, first semester and the course number is 01. The above notation will be followed by a series of numerical digits within parentheses to indicate the number of credits of the course, theory hours and practical class hours per week. Example:- AS 1101 (2/25:10) Microeconomic Theory is a two credit course carrying 25 hours of lectures and 10 hours of practical/tutorial work. English language and Information Technology are offered by the ELTU and the computer center respectively to enhance students’ communication skills and employment opportunities. The prospectus includes information on all courses offered during the core programme and the specialization modules along with the regulations pertaining to the degree programme. Students who complete all the requirements successfully will be awarded the Bachelor of Science Honours degree in Agriculture.

  • https://tracesofnations.org/
  • http://daftar.pmb.polikant.ac.id/
  • https://tanhao.giongtrom.bentre.gov.vn/